Back to Life, Back to Reality…

Now that our Babymoon is officially over, things are back to normal.  Things have been pretty hectic in our lives this past month or so.  We barely even had time to talk (most of our conversations being through text) before our Babymoon last week (thank the heavens!), and now we are back to that crazy, busy schedule.  I FINALLY got the house in order, clean and totally spotless! Our floors are officially the shiniest, cleanest floors I have ever seen (my cat sliding across the whole 25×12 living room floor proves it!).  This excites me for the following reasons:
1) My OCD was going freaking nuts in a house where I couldn’t find anything and had no idea where to put the things I COULD find so that they wouldn’t get lost again.
2) I can wear my socks in the house (seeing me barefoot is the equivalent of having seen Bigfoot or the Nessie-lots of years playing soccer so it’s not cute at all) without having to throw them out from the filth that has accumulated on them by the end of the day
3) I can access my underwear without having to climb over mountains of junk
4) I can spend time with Callie and the kids because I’m not rushing home to get things done
5) I CAN OFFICIALLY START THE NURSERY!! ( This is the most exciting part, can you tell?!?!)

The second that we got back from our trip, we were again swamped with tons of stuff to do.  We got home at about 5pm on Wednesday, had to pick up the girls, get them fed and bathed, and then I went to work from 9pm-5am! Lets not forget the fact that now, I have to go around with my breast pump too! Good thing I was well rested to start up the craziness again. Thursday involved lots of cleaning, organizing, getting rid of stuff and tending to children (which were both home with us ALL DAY because of Rosh Hashanah).  There was lots of Nick & Disney Jr. (SUE ME!) so that we could get some stuff done. Friday, we got to go to the pediatrician to pick up all of Laney’s legal documents and updated immunization records for us to get her signed up for the WIC program.  Ladies and Gentlemen, this. Is. A. Lifesaver! We get close to $200 a month for her formula, cereal, and baby food! It’s awesome! We didn’t know that we were entitled to this as foster parents, but apparently (and luckily) we are.  It helps to alleviate the $60 a week we were spending on formula and baby food. ***(What you are about to read is a statement reserved SOLELY for this situation) Good thing Callie’s random keeps worked out, because she hung on to all of those receipts and now we get reimbursed for the food we already bought for her in the past month! That’s pretty sweet!

Saturday we attended the wedding of our 2 dear friends Lesley and Magdalena.  To say that it was probably the most beautiful wedding I have been to would be an understatement.  They had a small, very intimate ceremony with their closest family and friends.  I would say about 40 people in Lesley’s sisters backyard.  It was such a beautiful day.  It was 83 degrees in New Jersey, and I kid you not, not a cloud could be seen in the sky.  They exchanged vows (which were hilarious and heartfelt and showed how in sync they are as a couple: they wrote them separately but said almost the same thing!), had their favorite acoustic musicians play short set, and had beautiful sunflowers everywhere, and most importantly, you could feel every ounce of love, admiration, appreciation, and support for the couple.  I can’t help but feel like I was really sensitive to all of the positive emotions and love in the room, because the whole day I felt this huge surge of emotions that left me crying for most of the day (trust me, I was a blubbering mess through the ceremony and I hardly EVER cry in front of people!) .  I can go on and on about how wonderful Saturday was. We met this other lesbian couple who is 3 months pregnant with their first child.  Lesley barely let us get in the door before introducing us! Needless to say, we spent the rest of the day together and have plans to hang out for game night the last Friday of October.  It’s nice to have another expecting lesbian couple near by, and I’m pretty sure we’ll be friends with those 2 ladies for a while.  They are totally our kind of cool.

ME AND MY BEST GIRL

ME AND MY BEST GIRL

CALLIE AND I AND HER BEST FRIEND JAZ

CALLIE AND I AND HER BEST FRIEND JAZ

Sunday was my little sister Natasha’s Baby Shower.  It turned out incredible!  Most of our family was there, and I got to see some of my cousins that I haven’t seen in a while.  When we were younger, even all the way up through high school, we were all very close.  As we got older and obligations pulled us in tons of different directions, we drifted apart, so on the few rare occasions that we all get together, it’s usually a tragic hot mess! How many times have you seen late 20 to 30 year old’s playing Musical Chairs?! Trust me, it’s hilarious! My mom, my aunt, and my sisters boyfriend did a beautiful job of putting the whole thing together.  There was tons of food, a DJ, brownie pops, cupcake tower, and lots of gifts.  She was totally surprised.  They had gotten her there by telling her that there was an Armoire that her boyfriends sister thought was perfect for the nursery.  She walked in and right away started crying! It was GREAT! I’m glad she enjoyed herself, got to dance, and share such a special moment with the people that she loves and that love her right back! I can’t WAIT for my niece to get here!

MY GORGEOUS LITTLE SISTER NATASHA AND OUR FUTURE NIECE

MY GORGEOUS LITTLE SISTER NATASHA AND OUR FUTURE NIECE

And lastly, tomorrow is our 20 week scan (technically 22 weeks, but who’s counting!?!).  I feel like it’s been forever since we’ve seen our babies, and I really can’t wait! Hopefully, we’ll get a ton of pictures to walk away with.  I’m glad that this scan takes a while, and we really get to have a look at the babies and their development.  Hopefully nothing will show up questionable, and our little Sweet Pea and Pumpkin will be safe and sound, and happy!  I can’t wait to see their little faces.  And hands.  And feet.  And ears. And hearts! I’m one excited mama! Callie is a little concerned that she may have to go on bedrest.  She’s been having tons of what we just found out from my sister are possible Braxton Hicks contractions.  She doesn’t want to take leave to early, because she’s concerned that she won’t get much time with the boys once they are home.  I insist that we cross that bridge if and when we get there, but she’s preparing for hearing that she’ll end up home on bedrest soon.  So tomorrow makes 22 weeks and hopefully a beautiful scan of our LJ and Noah.

BANANAS - HA!

BANANAS – HA!

21 WEEKS AND THE LENGTH OF CARROTS!

21 WEEKS AND THE LENGTH OF CARROTS!

10 thoughts on “Back to Life, Back to Reality…

  1. I love weddings where you have so much love for the people getting married. I have been known to shed a tear now and again at them. I’m glad that the new place is in order. I also hate when my socks are dirty from a dirty floor. YUCK! Your floor sounds clean enough to eat off of! Nice work! You and Callie are looking fantastic, as always.

  2. I love that your sister is having a baby just a bit before you – the cousins can grow up together !

    I also really love the chalkboard factoids you guys do each week. You can make the coolest pregnancy book once the pics are all said and done!

  3. First, is that a purple bowtie? It is amazing. I cannot handle the adorable, color-coordinated outfits. Congrats to both your friends on their nuptials and your sister’s baby girl!

    I’m so glad to hear the hoarding paid off! 😉 I always wondered if you had to foot the costs yourself or if you received help from the state. I’m glad to know you’re getting some financial reprieve. You certainly deserve it. (And some personal reprieve courtesy of the television. I make no apologies for that around here. Sometimes, I need a break. And Netflix PBS shows have saved my sanity more than once. Also, I’m 90% sure it taught The Lord his alphabet. Oops.)

    Hoping you guys get some adorable photos of the baby gentlemen and you hear good news in regards to restrictions and what-not. From what I understand, these next few weeks are the busiest for the babies mobility since there is still enough room to wiggle around a lot. That might be bringing them on a bit. I suggest a stern finger wagging in their direction to give their poor mother a break for even an hour or two a day. Look really serious. It helps.

    Keep on killin’ these hectic days. You’re more than halfway there!

  4. Braxton Hicks are SO SO SO SO common, and not what land you on bed rest!! As long as they’re not painful, she doesn’t need to worry. Tell her cervix to stay closed though lol!

  5. I’m glad you’re feeling more at home and comfortable – I also hate the dirt and confusion that piles up! And what a lovely weekend of celebration! So wonderful to share exciting transitions and meet new friends! Can’t wait to hear about the scan!

  6. My understanding is if the doctor puts her on temporary disability, rather than just saying ‘stay home’ it shouldn’t affect her leave at all because this is separate from any maternity benefits. That’s what I’m expecting in my situation, but that’s still months away to know for sure.

Leave a Reply

