A Hell of a Weekend

The above title, is an understatement. It has been one of the worst weekends we have had in a long time.  Let’s start with Friday…

Callie gets a phone call.  Her aunt Jasmine’s partner Brittany (they’ve been together for 35+ years, but no one really knows even though it’s INCREDIBLY obvious) is very sick.  And she’s in hospital. For 2 months she hasn’t been able to walk.  She has a very intense and severe phobia of doctors.  She doesn’t go.  Ever! She’s been sleeping on the couch, groaning and crying out in severe pain, not able to move, urinating in a bedpan, until finally Callie’s dad (who has known them since he started dating Callie’s mom and they were only about 11years old) went to their home, carried her like a baby out of the house, crying and screaming in agonizing pain, and took her to the emergency room.  They did tons of scans (a fear of an MRI and claustrophobia made it difficult) and after a night at the hospital, a diagnosis.  Breast cancer, ovarian cancer, Cancer in the lymph nodes.  It’s everywhere.  Completely metastasized.  Stage 4.  Very aggressive.  Not much time.  2 fractured vertebrae, fluid all along the spinal column.  On the pelvis.  It’s bad, friends.  Really bad.  I’m actually sitting in the hospital while I write this because this morning we got a call that, well, maybe she wouldn’t make it past the night.  But the oncologist showed up and gave everyone hope.  Lots of hope.  He’s gonna give her chemo and radiation and fight it as aggressively as the cancer is.  But then her lungs filled with fluid and then collapsed, and now she’s on a ventilator, and we’re all just…just…praying, and hoping, and keeping faith.  It’s all we can do.  And I’m waiting to go in there to sing to her, one of her favorite songs, so she knows I’m there (“My Wish” by Rascal Flatts which she dedicated to all of her nieces and nephews, including me)…and that in these 5 years that Callie and I have broken bread with them every Thanksgiving, I love her.  I’m her niece, and I love her.  And I pray…for her and for all of us because this shit is hard.  

Saturday morning Levi wakes up after a night of coughing with a cough that would make a 3 pack a day smoker cringe.  It was pretty terrible.  He was running a bit of a temperature, so we have him a little tylenol and went about our busy day.  For periods he would go without coughing so we though, “well, maybe he is being a little dramatic like the pediatrician says” (true story!).  But another sleepless night with lots of whining and coughing and we took him to the pediatrician straight away.  Sure enough, our little guy has bronchiolitis.   At least it’s not asthma.  So we have to give him Albuterol treatments with the nebulizer, every 4-6 hours as needed, but the cough has gotten much better.  Much much better! So some good news after bad news.  I will say though, he has not been happy.  At all!  

 My poor buddy!

Then, to add insult to injury, this… 

 Last night, Callie and I were getting busy for a little bit after a 6 week dry spell.  Between being exhausted, sick and teething babies, weekends away and nights on the boat, there just really hasn’t been time (or sex drive).  But last night!!!!???? YASSSS to last night, except after we were done, we were laying in bed laughing, and I felt like, “Holy Shit! That feels like blood!” And wouldn’t you know, I quickly realized that I was laying on a puddle of blood the size of a Frisby. I completely lost it! I run into the bathroom and immediately jump into the bath tub because in the 5ft from our bed to our bathroom, blood had run down my legs leaving droplets all over the floor.  I ran my hands between my legs and literally had collected a pool of blood in the palm of my hand. No words can describe the fear that went through my body.  I was petrified.

“Babeski, I have to go to the hospital right now! Like right now!!!” 

“Calm down love.  Don’t worry! It happened to me and everything is gonna be okay, okay?!”

“I don’t wanna go to the hospital! I don’t want bad news! I don’t want an IV!!!”

“We have to go love, just in case something is wrong.  Just in case, something isn’t wrong. We need to know!”

And so we made our way to the hospital.  I go right in, tell them I’m 9 weeks pregnant, get my bracelet, and wait 15 minutes before we are called in (must be a record!).  They take my vitals (blood pressure was pretty high),  put in the IV, draw blood, and send me right off to ultrasound. I was told to empty my bladder, and take my underwear off and lay on the table.  She was taking a really long time with the transvaginal ultrasound.  I was getting nervous, and she wasn’t saying anything! So I asked her if everything was ok.  She said she couldn’t tell me anything.  I had to wait for the radiologist to look at the images.  I immediately started crying.

“Well, (puts her hand on my knee)ni can tell you this much.  Baby is still there and it has a heartbeat of 171.  Unofficially, it looks ok, but it could change, so wait for radiology.  Are you 9w2d along?!”

(Through tears) “Yes, ma’am…I…I…I…am”

“Ok, sweetie.  Looks ok, ok?”

“Okay”

So I was wheeled back into my ER room, and fell asleep for about an hour and a half (it’s now 2am) and Callie woke me up to let me know rnt at the Dr. was here. Everything was ok! Thankfully! Little Biscuit was ok, and that’s all I needed to hear.  She followed that with Subchorionic hematoma.  So one more thing to add to the list of what could potentially complicate this pregnancy.  High BP, high glucose and now SCH.  Great! 

Ladies and gentleman, not a good weekend, and an even shittier start to the week.  These past 3 days have been tough. Real tough.  But prayers and positive energy are always welcome.  I’ll keep you posted….

(Please excuse the spelling errors)  

53 thoughts on “A Hell of a Weekend

  1. Keep breathing. Intense times for sure. Just take the lesson of your aunt to heart. Weird shit happening? Go to the doctor!
    So glad you guys are ok. At least bronchialitis at this age doesn’t require a hospital stay. Hopefully he’s off the treatments soon.

  2. Oh man. What a weekend. I’m so sorry to hear about your aunt. What a beautiful moment to get to sing to her. Im glad little Levi is on the mend. And I’m super relieved to hear that Biscuit is okay. Speaking from experience, SCH’s suck balls. Seriously- such a dramatic and terrifying experience that amounts to really nothing (thank goodness), but scares the crap outta you! I hope your bleeds are for a short period of time, and that they don’t happen often. Mine stopped by about 14 weeks. I hope that weekends improve from now on. Thinking of you guys.

    • You know, at least I’m glad they know that its a SCH. What really would have sucked and put me on edge for reals, would have been not knowing why i was bleeding, because the amount of blood was comparable to the ending scene is a horror film. I haven’t had any bleeding since then, so I’ll take that! Levi is doing much better, hardly coughing. But Callie’s aunt…she’s doing pretty terrible. We’re all still praying. That’s all we can do at this point.

  3. Oh my !!!! On the edge of my seat here!! I’m do sorry about your Aunt. Cancer really sucks!! And poor lil guy. Those coughs can be so scary.
    Um, are you going to obey pelvic rest now. (Gah! I hate that term). I was on pelvic test for the first half of my second pregnant due to possible prévia. No fun at all (well , no fun for me!).
    Hope the week gets better!

  4. Hang in there my dear. It sounds like a horrible no good very bad couple of day. I love how you found the positive in it. Your little one is getting over his sickness and biscuit is doing good. Sending good vibes and happy thoughts.

  5. Oh friend. I’m so sorry for everything. That is a miserable weekend for sure. Levi’s little face is just killing me in that photo. I am so relieved that the bleeding has an explanation. Not that it makes it fun, but at least it’s not a giant question mark stressing you out even more. I will be thinking of all of you! Hugs!

    • Thanks Molly…those hugs are well received on this end. Levi is doing much better (and that’s the least sad picture I have of him from the dr.’s office!). The saving grace this week is my sisters wedding on saturday..that’t the only thing….

  6. Holy buckets. Your title says it all. I’m so sorry about your aunt. Ugh. There are no words. Glad that the littles are ok. Sending lots of positive vibes your way! xx

  7. Sending all my love to you. I’m so sorry about your aunt and that she is facing scary scenarios for someone who is so uncomfortable with medical care.

    I’m glad biscuit is okay. I bled a lot with both kids. It’s terrifying.

  8. Oh wow, that sounds like an awful week! I’m so sorry! Don’t worry about the SCH, it’ll probably pass soon. Mine stopped bleeding a few days ago (fingers crossed). The bleeding was extremely terrifying – I feel for you! Hope next week goes better! xoxo

  9. What a cruddy weekend. I’m sorry there is so much loss and sickness and hardness. Y’all are super stars. I hope you catch some breaks, very soon!

  10. I’m so so sorry for what your both going through with Callie’s aunt. Just so terrible. I’m happy you two rocked the boat though and I hope you have a healthy sex life during your pregnancy cause damn it sucks to not have one. Glad the bleeding was just the hematoma too I know many women with them in pregnancy and although it sucks not a single one has had issues with the fetus.

  11. What. A. Nightmare. I don’t even know where to begin processing all of this.

    I’m sorry to hear about your aunt – it’s really awful. I hope the aggressive treatment will kick the cancer in the ass.

    Little Levi’s face! Adorable. I hope he feels better soon! T has a dry little cough as well but it comes and goes. Might get it checked out.

    Finally, I’m so glad everything is ok with biscuit. Maybe it’s a sign for you to *try* and take it easy? I know, stupid thing to say, but I’ve said it.

    Hope everything gets back to normal soon! Xx

  12. I’m so sorry you’re having such an awful time and how dreadfully sad about your aunt. Sending your whole family love and light.
    As you know SSIL had Herman the haematoma. They are fuckers. So scary. Hopefully yours will resolve quickly, try and rest as much as you’re able with the three kiddos!

  13. Good grief. That’s a lot to handle at any time, let alone when your pregnant. Hope your Aunt can fight the cancer and your son feels better soon *hugs* xxx

  14. Oh my goodness, you’ve all been through the ringer! I’m glad everything is okay with Biscuit, and pray that it will continue to be okay with no more bleeding episodes. Sarah had an SCH with both of her pregnancies. Obviously, Henry is alive and well and healthy and happy, and I think her baby #2 will be, too. I think these are more common than people talk about!

    Thinking of all of you and praying for your aunt.

  15. Oh I hope you two are buckeld in tightly. Sound like it’s been a wild ride. I’m sooooooo glad everything is okay with biscuit. If it makes you feel any better cherish and I went through the same exact thing when I was pregnant with Leo. I wouldn’t stop bleeding one night and passed out. It was scary. Just kiss your loved ones, you all are alright that’s what’s important. Glad the albuteral is helping his cough, those things are magical for babies. Welcome to albuteral world lol I’m sure you’ll have lots more run ins with that machine they gave you! Glad your okay friend. Hug the family tight you have so much to be thankful for.

    • Thanks L…I was already exhausted and on edge about Brit, and then the bleeding and it’s like ugh! But thankfully, the baby and i are good, and her aunt tolerated the chemo pretty well last night so here’s hoping for more good news!

  16. Oh my gosh Sammie, I am so sorry for all of this. What an awful weekend and I’m sure you’re still recovering and dealing with all of it. I hope Callie’s aunt gets relief from pain and gets to spend time with family she needs. And that little Levi gets better. Nothing scarier than a SCH but I know you’ll get through it. My little Gia is nursing in my arms right now and I had three major bleeds, as you know, then another in the 3rd tri. Good luck and hang in there. Much love.

    • Thanks! Her aunt was heavily medicated/ sedated when we were there last night, and they were going to keep her that way until they are able to take her off of the ventilator. All of her vitals were pretty ok, and they started chemo last night, after she made it through the draining of her lungs. 2.5 liters of fluid! Can you imagine! So we’er still praying and holding tight and hoping for some good news. The little guy is doing much better, so we’re grateful for that, and no more bleeding (i hope it stays that way!). That SCH is no joke! Scary stuff!

      • I’m glad you’re okay and Levi’s ok. Poor Aunt, after not going to the doctor it must be hard to go through so many procedures. Good luck and much love.

  17. Cancer sucks..period! I will keep all of you in my prayers. It is so hard to have our littles be sick. Give him lots of love and extra squeezes (which I am sure he is getting). I am so glad that Biscuit is well. Hang in there friends you have people praying and sending hugs.

  18. oh my goodness. i’m so sorry to be reading this on all accounts but most sorry about the last part. i honestly stopped breathing as i read about your bleeding. i would have been terrified. happy to hear everything is okay with the little biscuit.

  19. I’m so sorry so much happened in one weekend. You and your family are in my prayers. I pray that you are given peace, rest and strength that it sounds like you could use right now. I’m not saying you have not shown strength, I think you have shown so much strength to live through it and be able to write about it, I just wish you more. I also hope you know you have so many people who are thinking and praying for you during this very difficult time, and times to come.
    I am very happy for you that your baby is fine, I know the horror and fear bleeding during pregnancy can cause. I hope that despite the difficulties and other medical issues you are dealing with during your pregnancy I pray that you make it to term and have a lovely blessing in your lives in the end. I’m also sorry your child was so ill. You have braved the storm of the weekend, and hopefully it is smoother sailing with the waves and storms more spread out in the future for your life.

  20. Oh goodness, you have alot going on. I will keep you and your entire family in my thoughts and prayers. I am glad you and the baby are okay. I know it’s hard to do with all that’s going on but hope you can keep the stress level down!

  21. Oh my goodness… puts all my petty problems into perspective… what a terrible, terrible time you are going through. My thoughts are with you…

  22. I’m sorry you’ve had it so rough. Good news about your little one and that your little bean is okay, too. I’m sending lots of thoughts and energy to you and your family. I hope that aggressive treatment gets you guys more time with your aunt. Make sure you’re taking care of yourself and doing what you can to keep your own stress levels down. Get as much rest as you can.

Leave a Reply

