Almost One!

I can’t even believe that our 3.9 lb baby born at 29 weeks 6 days will be ONE next week!  A whole year!  Holy Crap!  I honestly don’t even know how that happened!  I guess having 3 under two, constantly on the run, and almost never having a break, the days just sorta wiz by.  Needless to say, ONE…in a week…and even crazier, as of the end of January I will also have a wife who is closer to 40 than 30 (and I mean that as a compliment because older woman are just WOW! Especially Callie!), an officially adopted 9 year old (paperwork is all in, minus updated physicals but they can file with expired ones so long as the updated ones are in before the finalization:another post for sure), and twin boys that will be 2!  December and January are madness!!!  img_60021

Austin’s 1 year well visit went well.  He is 24lbs 13oz, which outweighs his brothers by 1.6lbs and 1.9lbs respectfully.  He’s a little chunk, and anyone who knows me knows that chunky babies give me LIFE!  He is crawling, standing and finally cruising furniture, and just this past Sunday, he took 2 steps towards Callie as we decorated the Christmas tree.  He’s been getting physical therapy every Friday for about 2 months now, because he still has some gross motor issues, and even if he didn’t, the extra help and the one on one time still has major benefits for him.  He still isn’t stringing any sounds together, and hasn’t said Mama yet, but he loves to smile and laugh and has the best giggly squeal in the house.  Oh, and clapping!  He absolutely LOVES to clap, which he learned last week.   img_62041

He eats any and everything you put in front of him.  We’ve started to mix his bottles and started transitioning him to whole milk, which surprisingly, unlike his brothers, he LOVES.  But honestly, we expected that because he’s been mooching off of their sippy cups anytime he finds them on the coffee table when he’s crawling around.  One time I walked into the living room after having gone to the kitchen to fix him a bottle for about 1 minute, and I return only to find Levi adjusting a pillow so that Austin can lay on it, while he drinks…………a Mickey Mouse sippy full of whole milk.  Also, the other 3 kids, love the heck out of Austin.  I love when I see little glimpses of how my siblings and I were growing up, like when Mary tells Noah to sit nicely so she can tie his shoes.  Or how Levi will randomly stop playing to walk over, and give Austin a kiss and hug.  Or how, when I offer Noah something, the automatic response is “An EE-BYE TOO?!? (and Levi too?!?)” .  4 kids is so so hard, on a GOOD day, but seeing that, the connection, the way they play and fight and love each other…it does something to me.  It just makes me so happy, and sometimes, on the worst days, that’s all I have to think about to change things: 4 happy, healthy, loving, crazy, silly, tough, obnoxious, amazing kids!  I’m hella lucky y’all!IMG_6107[1].JPG

His birthday party is planned for Saturday, and saying we are completely unprepared is an understatement.  I haven’t even been to the fabric store to get material to make his High Chair Banner. I JUST ordered the cake this morning, which ended up having to be a shit ton of cupcakes because I was waaaaayyy too late to order, but it ended up being a blessing in disguise because $325+tip vs. $84 is LEGIT!  Callie is ordering the food today (hopefully) and my Oriental Trading order of over $300 that has all of our decorations, materials for center pieces and paper goods (all farm themed mind you!) won’t even be in until tomorrow and I HAVEN’T EVEN GOTTEN A SHIPPING CONFIRMATION yet, and the party is Saturday….yeah, this coming one!  So, things are a little hectic, and it might entail me spending more money than I need/want to spend during THE HOLIDAY SEASON, with EVERYONE’S BIRTHDAY IN MY HOUSE IN DECEMBER AND JANUARY, and if this order isn’t in by tomorrow night, Friday night after work, I’ll be heading to every party store in town to find the things I need. It’s ok though…soon, it’ll all be over, and we can recoup!IMG_6069[1].JPG

Aside from that, life has been good!  Very good.  There have been a couple of things here and there that have come up that we’ve managed to handle, some better than others, some easier than others, but otherwise, life is pretty darn good friends…pretty darn good!img_62022


 

So, there is something else that I kinda wanted to write about but I wasn’t really sure how I wanted to go about talking about it without being judged, but then I realized, that’s part of the work I’m doing, part of this healing that I have been going through.  So, here goes….

Since Election night, something inside me shifted.  The only way to describe it is, that night, after the results, I felt an ache in my chest like I had never felt before.  Interestingly though, I knew how upset I was, but something about this sadness that I was experiencing, was disconnected, almost like it wasn’t mine.  I hardly slept that night, as images of people crying, and dark shadows looming in corners kept creeping into my dreams.  I woke up, still kinda feeling strange and….emotional, i think like most of the country, but it was different.  I got on the train that morning to get to work, and the heaviness of that ride was so intense, that it took everything in me to not get off the train and head home.  It was overwhelming….so i prayed, and then, everything change.

I’ve been on a very enlightening spiritual journey this past month, and I have connected with myself, with others that have been experiencing the same thing, mainly old friends and acquaintances who are experiencing similar physical and emotional “symptoms” so to speak.  I’ll absolutely still be blogging here, as I’ve made some really wonderful and beautiful friendships and connections here and love to hear about your lives and your families, and honestly, it makes me a better person, but I think it’s also important to start chronicling some of this “other” stuff I’m going through and experiencing (besides being a kick ass Mama!).  Some of it will sound strange, the skeptics won’t believe it, but i think you all know enough about me to know that I’m pretty damn sane, and that even though I’m crazy, I’m not, ya know….CRAZY!

If you feel like, maybe that’s something you’re interested in reading, or hearing about, or even if your just being nosy, and want to make fun of me under your breathe, that’s cool too! Not a reflection of me, ya know, but head over…. My Wonderfully Unexpected Awakening  .  There isn’t anything posted yet, but there will be, probably more consistently than here, as this journey is a huge part of my life right now, and has bled over into EVERYTHING!  It’s really such a beautiful thing, and I’m ready to share it with the world….see ya there 😉

~Sammie

13 thoughts on “Almost One!

  1. Glad to hear an update here! It sounds like your life is full and amazing ❤ I'm so glad to hear things are progressing with the adoption – what a relief it will be to have that completed!

    I popped over to your new blog and followed. It sounds like you're going through an amazing experience. Everything is certainly different now, and the heaviness of it all can stop my breath at times. Looking forward to following your journey through this.

  2. Thank you for writing. Helps and also brings a smile to my life. Will be checking out the new site too.
    May I ask please that you check with Impossibly Royal and if given permission could you let us know if the 5th baby arrives safely and all is well. I think of you two bloggers as connected in friendship and I miss them while respecting their decisions.
    This world does not seem to be getting easier and your families remind me of all the good things and positive people who are still here making a difference.
    THANK YOU!

    • Thanks sally! I will absolutely ask if it’s cool to update, but just know, all are doing very well, #5 included! Thanks for thinking of them. They are some of my dearest friends, so you are absolutely correct in saying that. Love and peace to you friend…

  3. Cannot believe it’s a year already!!!! Actually, your whole journey has been incredible and you all hold a place in my heart!!! I can’t describe how proud I am to have you all in my life! You two mommies are amazing and should be so proud of your lives! The children are so beautiful and the photo of all of them together………priceless! I love you all and wish nothing but health, happiness & love!

    As far as Election night……I am still sick so I can understand your feelings. You know I had been in politics for over 25 years & still cannot believe what happened! I hope The people that voted for him realize the mistake they made, although in my opinion, they adore this ass! My prayers are that he only serves one term & is not able to undo all the good President Obama did!! However, this being said….this is my opinion & I do not wish to upset anyone reading this that voted for him!

    I love you all and since we have a small place to stay, we will be coming back & forth & will get to see you all one day!!! Love, hugs & kisses!!! Momma Contessa!😘😘😘😘😘😘🎅🏻🎅🏻🎅🏻🎅🏻

    • Momma C, honestly, we are the lucky ones! We love you so so much and treasure the few moments that we have physically shared together. We miss you and can’t wait for your next visit…we’ll all head to Gary’s and hang! We love and miss you much!

  4. Amazing that a year has already gone by. The kids are all so sweet, the boys are adorable and I sincerely cannot wait until Mary is yours and we can see the love and happiness that shines from her face. I will definitely follow you on your newest writing adventure. Thank you for sharing both journeys.

  5. I cannot believe it’s been a year! I still remember seeing your post on Facebook after he was born. I was sitting on my mom’s couch and I screamed! Happy birthday, sweet little man! You are so loved!

    • It’s so crazy, because i was reading some of the journal entries that I wrote when he was born, on the train on Monday and I cried my face off because I was so so scared….and look at him! Had i known, i woulda saved those tears for the beautiful boy that outweighs his brothers, moves like lightning, and smiles like summer rain feels on my hot skin…that boy!

  6. Pingback: A One Year Old Miracle | thechroniclesofanonbellymama

Leave a Reply

