10 Things You Didn’t Know About Me…

Thank to my friend over at Bumbi’s Mom for signing me up for this thing!  I love stuff like this!  It gives me a chance to write about, well, nothing and everything all at once, and allow you all to get more of a feel for who I am…So here goes!

ten-things-you-didnt-knowThe rules are as follows:

  • Link back to the blogger who nominated you and answer their 10 questions
  • Add the badge to your post
  • Write your own 10 questions and tag 10 bloggers to do the same.

Bumbi’s Mom had a few questions for me…

  1. All time favorite song?
    My all time favorite song would have to be “Slow Dancing in A Burning Room” by John Mayer.  If you’ve ever been in that situation (loving someone so much but the walls are collapsing around you both), you understand how incredibly raw those types of emotions are, and you get his sentiment completely.  I’ve cried about a million times listening to this song….it’ll always be my favorite.
  2. Favorite genre of music?
    You’d probably be surprised to hear this, but I am a die hard country fan.  I love the hell out of some country music.  it just seems more, i dunno, real?! More heartfelt.  Less synthesized and autotuned and honest and true.  But since I am a singer, with a pretty unique and interesting voice, I would have to say it’s somewhere in the middle or R&B and Neo-Soul.
  3. Books or movies?
    I am a lover of books.  Nothing makes me happier than curling up on my couch in the winter with a Snuggie and a cup of hot chocolate, or on the beach in the summer with an ice cold beer, or in the local park in autumn on a blanket with an apple, or in my parents backyard in the spring with a glass of wine and a damned good book!  I have the attention span of Dory from “Finding Nemo” when it comes to movie.  This is a tough gig when your wife would rather watch a movie any day, and the only time she considers reading a book is when you read it to her!  So yeah, books…always books!
  4. First concert you ever went to?
    I will never forget my first concert…ever!!!  When I was 14 years old, my dad surprised my youngest sister and I with tickets to see….wait for it………..THE SPICE GIRLS!!!!  Oh man!!!  I was in my orange and blue Adidas tear away pants, my Nike cross trainer, and my hair in a tight, pulled back, pony tail!  I was in my glory!  I knew every single song, every single dance move, and my dad let us buy all sorts of cool stuff like the the concert DVD, and T-shirts, and all sorts of soda and cotton candy and crap!  The seats were pretty awful, but ohhhh, the Spice Girls.  No concert will ever compare when it comes to the excitement I felt.
  5. Favorite artist or band?
    Currently, my favorite artist is Sam Smith, but basically my whole adult life it’s been Jason Mraz…love that guy!
  6. If you could have any job in the world what would you want to do?
    I have always wanted to me in the military.  The branch doesn’t really matter, but the Marines would have been the way for me.  I have always been a person who wanted to be a part of team and always worked best that way.  I am a person who takes pride in my work.  I also believe in defending our country and the rights that we are afforded every day.  My parents came here for a better life and that better life has been upheld and defended by the men and women that serve this country.  I always wanted to be a part of that.  Life has led me down a path that every time I was 2 seconds from signing up and leaving, some big life event would happen.  My mother got diagnosed with breast cancer, my father was electrocuted at work and became disabled, I got accepted to school, I met my first wife (as married in ny as you can be), suicide attempt and hospitalization (outpatient) for 2 years, then I was so determined to go after I got my life together, and in strolls Callie, and the rest…well, you all know the rest…so any job, proud member of the US Marine Corps…
  7. Dine at home or go out to eat?
    I wish we could afford to go out to eat often.  Growing up, I was a pretty picky eater.  I mean, I’m Latina and I didn’t eat my first beans until I was 18 years old, and moved out of the house and was tired of eating Ramen and Chef Boyardee and Easy Mac!  Now, I love trying new foods, and have become pretty adventurous.  My pallet appreciates it!  Who would have thought that I, of all people, would love….broccoli!
  8. Mountains or beach?
    This is a tough one! I’m gonna have to go mountains though.  I love a good hike, and I love an amazing view.  The mountains are where it’s at!  (But also, we are always on a boat, so who needs the beach! I guess i kinda cheated for this one!
  9. Favorite part of blogging?
    My favorite part about blogging if finding a way to connect with people that you normally and probably wouldn’t have thought you would connect with.  I love telling my family’s story in hopes that it would resonate with someone else going through the same thing.  And also, I especially love the friendships I have made.  There are several really special ones, and one blogger in particular has become such a huge part of our every day lives that their hurts are our hurts, and their joys are our joys, and their kids our adopted nieces and nephews.  Favorite part hands down is community.
  10. Train, plane or automobile?
    I work for the local commuter rail, so trains are out of the questions!  I spend 10 hours a week on a darn train!  Automobile with 3 kids is just a different kind of special torture.  I’m gonna have to say plane, and a Benadryl, and a glass of wine, because, sleep!  Everywhere we drive to, I have to drive.  Callie is a good driver, but why drive when your wife can, right?!  So planes, for sure!

My questions for you:

  1. What is your biggest fear?
  2. What was your favorite toy growing up?
  3. If you could have dinner with one person, past or present, would it be?
  4. What is your favorite era to have lived in?
  5. What are you thinking about right this second?
  6. What’s one of the scariest things you’ve ever done?
  7. What is your first ever memory?
  8. Do you think any kind of afterlife exists?
  9. What is the biggest change you’ve ever made?
  10. Have you ever been in a fist fight?

The nominees:

Laura and Amy’s Making a Baby Adventure
Husband and HusbandUnicorns and Rainbow Dreams
SoloMama
Mama et Maman
LezBVeganMoms
Little Rainbow Bug
Impossibly Royal
Shawns and Cade
Ladylove and Babydust
And anyone else who would like to join in on this fun little “challenge”.

3 thoughts on “10 Things You Didn’t Know About Me…

  1. I loved reading your answers and learning more about you. Here’s the thing – country music – get it. I personally am a fan of the songwriting community and lived in Nashville for 5 years and had the opportunity to hang with some of the legends so yeah I am with you on that. But my musical tastes are fairly diverse as are yours, clearly. Lifehouse is my favorite band right now. I have some serious ADD when it comes to movies too. Unfortunately I don’t get much time to read, but I do spend a lot of time in my car commuting and for work so I get my reading done via my ears nowadays. Thanks for playing along!

  2. Man, I absolutely love that song (slow dancing in a burning room) it has been a source of comfort and understand in my past! The melody is a mix of haunting realization and acceptance. I’m so grateful for your story and your life through this blog! It really does help to have someone like you who is so supportive and encouraging! You bring so much sprit and joy into our community. We are grateful for you and Callie.

Leave a Reply

