30 Day Challenge – Day #15

Day 15-Bible verse

I’ve never been much of a reader of the Bible.  I have picked it up several times, and I have downloaded it to my kindle in hopes that one day, I may just decide to really figure out what they are saying.  I try my best when reading it (when I actually DO read it) to stay objective and open minded, but being a person of faith has little do with a book.  Is it the word of God?  It could be, or it could not be.  It is open to interpretation?  It should be, but usually isn’t.  People take the bible too literal (considering that it was written more than 2,000 years ago, and society and mores and values and culture were WAAAAYYYYY different back then, but I could go on forever about this so I’ll just stop there), and sometimes, I feel that if you read it like just an ordinary book, well, then you might get some knowledge dropped on you when you least expect it.

I CORINTHIANS 13:13 –  And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.

No words could be truer.  I try my hardest to live my life in love.  I pour my heart into damn near everything I do.  A while ago, when I was jaded and angry and disappointed and annoyed with life and the world in general, I would forget.  I would forget what it was like to feel love, or the amazing pleasure I would experience in giving love.  The whole of Corinthians talks about how love is patient and kind.  How it does not envy or boast or is proud.  Lots of times we forget that love JUST IS and you either feel it or you don’t.  You either allow yourself to experience and share it, or push it aside or keep it to yourself.  Being on the receiving end of so much love throughout my struggles in my adult life, and seeing how that love propelled me forward and catapulted me out of the pits of despair, I KNOW that having faith and hope is awesome, but having love, the greatest of all things, well, hell! Nothing beats that!  The greatest of ALL THINGS is love, and I like that, I live that, and pray that everyone, at some point in their lives, will know exactly what that feels like…

(Another Password Protected Post {sorry!} will be posted today.  Same password as last post.  If you need it, email me at thechroniclesonanonbellymama at gmail dot com.)

8 thoughts on “30 Day Challenge – Day #15

  1. Your absolutely right about your little intro about the bible. I like to identify as christian and for me…..most christians believe in literal interpretations for everything and they seem to forget ancient times in the mid east would be alot different than 2015 USA. Common sense? Guess not…anyways great post:)

    • I watched this fantastic documentary called “For The Bible Tells Me So”… if you get about an hour of free time (free time?! What is that?!?!) i totally recommend it…it puts scripture and the times into perspective and really breaks it down…it was super interesting…and thank you…

  2. Ill email you when I’m back from Pennsylvania for the password!

    My “word of the year” for 2015 is LOVE. I am trying to do all things in love. I mean, I try all the time and not just this year. but this year especially, I’m working to integrate it into everything I do. Even work! As I mentioned yesterday, it is evident that you are a loving, lovely soul.

  3. Is the e-mail at the bottom of this post a typo or did I send my other message to the wrong address? I had spelled it like in your URL but was wondering why you never responded. You never need to apologize for making protected posts, it is totally your choice to have some privacy. The Internet can be a vicious place. I dropped out of a previous graduate program because some classmates found my blog and started passing it around and snickering a la Harriet the Spy! (Also because they started threatening me via social media).

  4. I nominated you for the creative blogger award. Please see my recent post for detail to participate. Love your blogs woman :]

Leave a Reply

