2 Months Old and a Bunch of Other Stuff

I’ve been slacking a little in the “Blog Post” department, but I can say that twins, a 7 year old, work, and my wife keep me very busy.  I find myself starting posts (there are probably 3 in queue which I will be combining in this post) and never finishing them, because even when I do get a few minutes, something else takes over!  Nonetheless, I missed weeks 6 & 7, so here they are!

MY LITTLE SAILORS

MY LITTLE SAILORS

GROWING OUT OF THEIR CLOTHES

GROWING OUT OF THEIR CLOTHES

I looked back at some of the other weekly pics, and Levi is NEVER looking at the camera.  He’s gonna be just like Mommy, and of course Noah is a total ham like Mama!  Life at home has totally improved!  It has been getting better on a daily basis.  The boys have started to stay up more during the day, and are sleeping better at night (Thank the LAWD for 5-6 hours at a time).  The past couple of days, thanks to daylight savings time and the warmer NY weather (YES 45-50 degrees!) we have been able to go out for walks when I get home from work around 6pm.  Callie is waiting for me with carriers and the boys in their jackets and Mary with her helmet and scooter.  It’s really awesome to be able to go outside, holding my wife’s hand, baby wearing, as Mary rides like a bat outta hell (or a kid cured of cabin fever, but it’s all the same isn’t it?!) around the neighborhood.  I love the idea of giving LGBT families a face and a presence in our community, and since so many people know us individually and not really as a couple, it’s nice to show them that these 2 “really nice young ladies” are together and raising a beautiful family.  I think I’ve done a 180 since my post 2 weeks or so ago, and am really starting to appreciate and enjoy my life and the awesome little memories that my family is creating.  So here’s to continued warming of the weather and the possibility of keeping our boat for one more summer (thanks to my mother and father in-love)!

GETTING OUTSIDE AND SOME FRESH AIR WITH THE FAMILY

GETTING OUTSIDE FOR SOME FRESH AIR WITH THE FAMILY

Today, our little guys turn 2 months old! Where is the time going!?!  It seems like just yesterday I was in my room, pacing the floors, yelling at Callie to hurry up in the shower so I could call the Dr.,  trying to figure out what to pack for the hospital!  I’ve decided to bypass the weekly updates (they really aren’t that interesting when they are this little) and go to monthly photos since that’s when you can really start to see some of the changes and developments they are making.  Either way, it’s so exciting to see!  This month (well, the last week or so really) the boys have started to be more alert and aware of their surroundings.  They are noticing things like the cat darting around, the pinwheel spinning pretty colors on the windowsill, and Elmo on “Plaza Sesamo” because I torture Callie into playing Spanish Sesame Street as background noise as well as Spanish nursery rhymes when I’m not home so the boys get familiar with the language (still speaking strictly in Spanish to them).  They love flashing lights and high pitched sounds.  They are holding their heads up longer during tummy time, and not spitting up as often.  They drink 3oz during the day, but 4oz right before bed time. They are more active during the day and staying up in longer intervals.  Callie and I have resumed our snugglefest at night, and were even able to get in a game of Scrabble on Monday night, which was really nice.  Who knows?!  We might even be able to get in a movie on Netflix! ::GASP:: Normalcy is slowly returning…slowly.  And my favorite thing so far—–>SMILING! Those boys have started smiling up a storm!  There is nothing like coming home from a long, tiring day at work, giving them a cuddle and in middle of talking to them, they flash you this huge gummy, drooly smile!  Melts my heart every time.

FACETIMING WITH MY BROTHER

LEVI FACETIMING WITH MY BROTHER

MOMMY SINGING IS FUNNY!

NOAH THINGS MOMMY’S SINGING IS FUNNY!

2 MONTHS TODAY!

2 MONTHS TODAY!

Lastly, on this Mendez Family update, my sister has asked me to be her “Best Lady” at her wedding!!  I KNOW RIGHT!!!  It’s a title that I’ve given myself, mainly because there is no wedding party at all, but you need people to give a toast.  And besides, “Maid/Matron of Honor” sounds a little too feminine for my liking, and I’m pretty sure the suit and bow tie will throw things off too.  Also, somehow, I am officiating their wedding, which to me has been the biggest deal of all.   My sister has so much faith in my “stage presence, diction, and humor” (lol) that she asked me yesterday, and of course, I said i would totally do it!  So this morning, my mission was to look at a ton of websites to see what the quickest and cheapest way to get ordained in NY is.  I think I have completed that goal.  Now, I have to figure out what the heck I’m gonna do for a Bridal Shower, Bachelorette Party, Ceremony and Best Lady speech.  Originally, the wedding was supposed to be May 2016, but their application for their condo fell through (something about a lawsuit on the management company, so no fault of my sister and her soon to be husband) so they moved it up to AUGUST 1ST!!!  So yesterday after work, I met my 2 sisters in NYC to go dress shopping.  It was a lot more fun than I had expected, and it I can’t tell you how excited I am to be such an integral part of her special day.  I got super emotional seeing her in her gorgeous dress ( She found THE ONE!) and can’t believe that my little sister is getting married to an amazing, wonderful, kind and loving man (who is amazing with children and can’t wait to have some!).  Just a few more months until her special day, and our bond as sisters grows stronger.  So I’ll be an ordained minister in a week, getting ready to officiate my sisters wedding! Who woulda thought!?!

PICKING DRESSES

PICKING DRESSES

22 thoughts on “2 Months Old and a Bunch of Other Stuff

  1. It’s so nice to see you SO much happier! And how could you not be with those handsome little guys smiling at you?! Adorable! Glad you’re getting some rest and some outside time, too. Being able to spend some time outdoors always helps my mood dramatically.

    • The outside time really helps! And seeing the world through childrens eyes makes it different too. Explaining to my sons what colors are and trying to find words for different animals and what flight is and things like that, makes it so much better!

  2. Awwww, this post made me smile so much. I”m SO glad you’re feeling better! It sure helps when babies start giving back (SMILING!) and sleeping a little longer.

    Being outdoors has REALLY helped my mood by leaps and bounds, and I’m sure that plays a part in your renewed sense of happiness, too. I love hearing about your family! ❤

    • I have to say, going outside is a life saver. And leaving for work in daylight and coming home in daylight is a drastic difference from leaving in the dark and coming home in the dark. The fact that they are sleeping longer helps too, and Callie has been letting me sleep through that 2am feeding most nights, so being a little more rested has helped me keep my cool and sanity a little better. Right now, i really can’t complain…

  3. I am so happy for your happiness!! It’s great to read (and see) that the boys and Mary are doing well. That you are such an important part of your little sister’s life, and will be such a critical part of her wedding – clearly you two have a special bond!

    • We are about 16 months apart my sister and I, and since we were younger, my mother wouldn’t allow me to do anything without my sister tagging along. I hated it when I was younger, but now that I’m older, I’;m so glad she did. It created a really trusting and loving relationship between us, that I hope my kids have one day. It’s actually like that with all 5 of my siblings. They are my best friends! Thanks for the kind words…

  4. I’m so glad to hear things are on an upswing! Being able to get out in the fresh air and natural light always makes me feel better. Plus, baby-smiles like your boys’?? Melt my heart. And congrats to your sister (and family in general!) it sounds like cousins may not be far behind 🙂

  5. That’s so wonderful that things have turned the curve. I wish people were more honest about how hard those first months can be.

    Congrats to your sister! How exciting to be officiating her wedding!

    • These first few months were nothing like I expected. But you know what?! It’ll all be a little easier with the next one cuz you sorta know what to expect. Every day it gets a little better, they get a little older, and our house gets a little more organized and quiet…

  6. Really glad things are brightening up for you and the boys are sleeping more. I think monthly posts at this stage make a lot of sense as well. Does wifey speak/understand Spanish? I’m going to force my grandma to speak Italian to our babes so we can all learn. I e been keeping up with you on Instagram and FB so I feel like I’m more involved than I would be lol and Kate lives following you too! We are going to get to NY in the next year or so and maybe meet up with you guys?…hope things continue to go smoothly and more pleasurably.

    • Callie understand a lot of Spanish because she grew up around it (she understand Latin food, i’l tell you that! LOL!) but I did buy her rosetta stone, and honestly the best way for adults to learn a new language is to learn it the same way kids learn it. Simple word books with pictures, repetition, and being exposed. Something tells me she will pick most of it up pretty quickly. And I agree with the IG and FB friend stuff. It’s nice to get to know people alittle better like that. Glad we’re buddies! 😉

  7. Holy smokes- I missed your last post and didn’t realize it until I read this one and went back to find it. Glad things are going a little bit better and glad we all have this amazing supportive mom community.

  8. I’m so glad you’re doing well! That’s wonderful, you guys looks so happy. The babies look amazing! So cute. I life that you’re giving LGBT families presence 🙂 Sending a big hug.

  9. Hey! I’m behind on reading blogs hence my comment way after the post. The imagery of the five of you on your evening walk is gorgeous! Now the evenings have started getting lighter we’ve started walking our dogs on nicer/longer walks (our local park closes at dusk) and we day dream out loud often about baby wearing while dog walking 🙂

    With regards to the wedding – if you need any hints/tips/pointers about building the ceremony, please give me a shout, I wrote our whole wedding ceremony myself and managed to have quite a few friends/family involved – it was very intimate/personal. Our minister said she’d never seen anything like it, and even hesitated a little when I put my ideas to her, but she loved it so much she wrote about it afterwards on her site! Of course, what we did may be completely off course for your sister. Congratulations on officiating – what an honour!

Leave a Reply

