3 Week Old Baby Boys

So we’ve made it to week 3 and neither Callie or I has died of sleep deprivation. Winning!

2015/02/img_0198.jpg

We had a check up on Friday for the boys. So they are both officially over the 6 pound mark. Noah is weighing in at 6lbs, 12oz and Levi is weighing 6lbs, 5oz. They have both basically gained a pound since their birth. I can’t believe that their due date is actually 3 days from today. In the 3 weeks that the boys have been here, lots has changed, but somehow nothing has changed. I don’t really know how to explain it. I will say, I have never been so in love with my wife. There are times that i just catch myself staring at her for minutes at a time, watching her interact with our children. I listen to how she worries, how she coo’s at them, how she sings to them while changing their diaper. I see the way her eyes sparkle when she talks about them. Her voice goes up a half step when she tells me the cute little things they did. I haven’t see her smile this much in all the time we have been together. I have never seen her so happy. She’s been more affectionate despite being so tired. We started putting the boys in the pack and play to sleep, and that has taken the cuddle time up 10 fold although I miss baby smell all night long. We haven’t cuddled since the hospital!!! It’s been nice…really really nice! I just love what motherhood has done to her, and it makes me happy to have been chosen by her and by our Dude upstairs to be such an integral part of her life.

Our pictures came in from our photoshoot at the hospital. So we got our announcement cards made.

2015/02/img_0184.jpg
We can’t wait to send them out! Also, yesterday was the Super Bowl. I come from a family of die hard NY Giants fans! We don’t even care who’s playing in the big game, we always wear our colors!! We BLEED BLUE!!!! And all this cuteness makes it all worth it.

2015/02/img_0192.jpg

2015/02/img_0195.jpg

Next week I go back to work, and I’m counting down and dreading the idea of 1)leaving Callie to do everything on her own, despite not being fully healed or feeling even 90%, but my mom will be by 2-3 times a week to help keep the apartment clean, cook dinner, and just help with caring for the boys and 2) Having to leave the boys after spending every waking and sleeping moment with them. I get all teary eyed and have heart palpitations when I think about it. Im gonna cry all day my first (second, third, fiftieth) day back. But bills need to be paid and babies need to get fed. So sad already. But aside from that, life in the Mendez household has been fantastic. Callie and I have a system that we use that we kinda got into without ever even saying anything. We just kinda flow and work well together. But my Bubba is gassy and needs me to bicycle his legs, so hope everyone has a great day (snow day if you’re in the northeast.)

14 thoughts on “3 Week Old Baby Boys

    • By law im entitled to 12 weeks, but i only get paid for the time i have accrued. I have 6 weeks worth of time available, but i only took 4 weeks because if there are dr’s appointments or the boys get sick and also be able to take a vacation at some point this year. I could have stayed longer but i wabt to be able to have some days available

      • Yeah, it should really be at least partially paid without having to use vacation time, fmla is only unpaid. :-/ I’m not going to lie, that’s part of why I really want to carry, then I can use short term disability to supplement my meager vacation, otherwise I’d only get a week or two at home with the kid before I have to head back to the figurative coal mines.

  1. Those birth announcements are awesome! And I’m glad everything is going well for you guys and the boys. I can’t imagine figuring out the first few weeks with TWO newborns – I wouldn’t want to do it again with ONE, so I’m in awe of your strength and perseverance! The both of you are superheroes!

  2. Your birth announcements are beautiful. I’m amazed by you and Callie- both your love for each other, but also how you two work so well as a team. DW and I are like that too, and I feel so lucky to have found her. Sorry you have to return to work already. But with your mama coming by regularly, Callie, Mary, and the babes will be fine.

  3. Do you qualify for short term disability at all? If your covered by fmla you may get half of your leave paid for by supplemental insurance. Going back to work was the hardest thing to do-I cried all day. I took thier socks to work and rubbed myself in their lotion and sniffed myself all day. Totally creeped everyone out lol! May the force be with you…

  4. I love these updates. They ooze love. You made my day. Thank you for that!

    I really hear your anguish over going back to work. Don’t know what else to say except that I wanted to honour your feelings.

  5. The babies are just precious! So perfect in every way! Your niece is just adorable! Such a butterball! Glad you and Callie are handling parenting like champs. The chalkboard is too cute. Happy 3 wks baby boys!

Leave a Reply

