Second Week Down

These boys seem to be growing at the speed of light! 2 weeks old and they already feel heavier in my arms and it pains my heart. We are really starting to get the hang of this “being moms” thing. We have a set routine and the kids are all doing well. We have been parents to our little Mary for almost a year now, but somehow it’s still different. With Mary, we picked up where someone else left off, trying to put together some broken pieces, and doing our best not to harm her any more than she’s already been hurt. But with the boys, we start from scratch, square one. We have to do our best not to screw this up royally. So far though, it seems like we’re doing well! They aren’t starving, no diaper rash, and sleeping soundly through the night (for the most part, with the exception of waking them up every 3 hours for feedings). As of our pediatrics appointment last Wednesday (another one this Wednesday unless the 3 feet of snow in our forecast prevents it) the boys are an ounce away from their original birth weights, they are both still the same length (as expected), and everyone who has looked at their little penises say their circumcisions look “Beautifffuuulll!!!” Which of course we loved to hear! So far friends, so good.

2015/01/img_0113.jpg
2 Whole Weeks

There are little things that we started to notice about them that make us forget that I didn’t personally birth them or inseminate Callie. Noah whimpers in his sleep and has the most gorgeous dimples. He has the most perfectly plum lips with gorgeous definition to them that makes him look like he’s wearing lip liner. His ears are attached (this has fascinated me since biology) and when his hair is wet it has a little curl to it. Levi only needs about 4 hours of sleep to function and is fully awake for the rest of the day. He is super active, always flailing his arms and kicking his legs, and he acts like a real tough guy. He’s going to be my future NY Giants quarterback. He loves music and boobs! These traits make these boys total Mendez babies! Callie and I agree that she was just the vessel. With the exception of their coloring, the blue and hazel eyes, and that ginger hair that Levi rocks!

2015/01/img_0118.jpg

2015/01/img_0119.jpg

2015/01/img_0120.jpg

2015/01/img_0121.jpg

2015/01/img_0122.jpg

2015/01/img_0123.jpg
These were the photos taken at the hospital that we ordered and are waiting for them to be delivered but I couldn’t wait to share them!

We’ve had tons of company, which is great because a) I’m ridiculously social and love having people around b) we get to show off our fantastically gorgeous babies c) when it’s our families and closest friends we get to sleep. For 3 hours. And cuddle. And not change diapers. And not wash bottles (the Bottle Washing Struggle is REAL my good people!!!). We haven’t cooked a single meal in 2 weeks because everyone brings us food every day with tons of left overs for lunch (when we have time remember to eat). I threw on a pair of summer shorts that used to be a little snug and had to wear a belt because they were falling off of my waist! People have been so kind and generous and it reminds me how blessed we are to have such incredible people in our lives. I’ve been an emotional wreck, crying for all types of reasons, but knowing that we have so many amazing people in our lives really brings the tears right out. Even this blog community has shown us so much love. We have received some pretty awesome gifts from you all. Vans sneakers and socks, gift cards, toys…it’s been awesome! Much love to you all. Seriously! It’s incredible.

On the nursing front: Can you freaking believe that I still have no DAMNED milk!!!! I’m like almost over it, but then I put them at Breast and my heart melt, and I smell them and they look at me with those beautiful eyes and recognize that I’m their Mama and I realize that the closeness and the bond and connection is what I crave. I say, “Eff it! I’ll rinse this little tube out and use it again later.” I get to nurse them about 3 times during the day while Mary is at school (boundry issues with foster care. I don’t want her going around telling people she saw my breasts!) and once at night for their 11pm feeding before bed. That’s my favorite feeding, when I sing them songs and ABC’s (in Spanish which is the only language I speak to them in) and I watch their little hands clutch my skin and rub their eyes and sleep wash over them like waves on the shore. I love being a mom to these beautiful
boys. Im the luckiest Mama alive…

2015/01/img_0129.jpg
Nursing Noah

2015/01/img_0077.jpg
The boys first bath which they loved!

2015/01/img_0124.jpg
Brothers?! YUP!

2015/01/img_0125.jpg
They love this swaddler!

2015/01/img_0109.jpg

2015/01/img_0111.jpg

2015/01/img_0108.jpg
We woke up like this! Flawless!

32 thoughts on “Second Week Down

  1. I love the hospital photos!! Ahhh i just love the babies, they are the true perfection!! I love how they look so different, yet equally adorable. Funny how you knew one would have red hair before they were born. Glad everything is going well for you ladies.

  2. Thank you so much for this update! It really brought me tears of joy. I’m so happy for you. What perfect little angels! You’re doing a great job, keep it up! It’s normal to feel pressure of being responsible from the first day, but it sounds like you’re all set for anything that might come up! Go mamas go! Xx

  3. I love the Hosp pics! We had Bella baby photos too! I’m so glad you are sticking with the bfeeding! You’re a trooper! I hear ya on the bottle washing front! It was ridiculous!!!! Take advantage of all that awesome help 🙂 the boys are just as cute as ever!

  4. AWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW!!! So Happy for you all. They are so beautiful!!!! You are doing great mommies!!!! THank you for sharing..They bring smiles to my face with every photo! Love to you all!!!!!

    Momma C

Leave a Reply

