Nursery News!

This past week and a half has been pretty hectic! I haven’t eve had a chance to update you guys on Callie’s 27th and 28th week of pregnancy.  Week 27 looked a lot like this for Callie, but I think the boys are still have a growth spurt, so lots of eating and lots of resting…

CALLIE ON ONE OF HER MANY "BREAK FOR A FEW MINUTES"

CALLIE ON ONE OF HER MANY “BREAK FOR A FEW MINUTES”

27 weeks sees babies retinas developing.  One fun fact that I found interesting is that babies are able to dream at this point.  But what would they dream about considering that they have no idea what the outside world is like.  They have no point of reference yet or experiences.  It makes me wonder if those reincarnated souls that take up shop in our little babies bodies give them those dreams.  It also makes me wonder if they have nightmares too, and then that makes me sad that I can’t soothe them.  Too much to think about!  Their brains also get those little characteristic wrinkles, and they are getting pretty long and chubby.  We’ve also been able to recognize what their schedules are.  It’s funny because it seems to be that Callie gets more tired when they are most active (she doesn’t even feel them and can sleep right through it!)  At our 27 week scan, everything looked great.  The OB and Perinatologist changed her visits to bi-weekly instead of weekly because they felt that it might just aggravate her thinning cervix and it seems to have been stable the past month, so it wasn’t worth the risk.  Our next appointment is this coming Tuesday which we are excited about.  We haven’t been able to get a good ultrasound the past 2 times we’ve gone because we got stuck with a shitty first time sonographer that still uses notes to figure out how to work the damn machine! We’ll get our favorite lady (which we requested) who gives us 3D u/s even though she isn’t really supposed to… Also, both boys are still head down, where they have been the past few scans, so hopefully, Callie will be able to have a natural vaginal delivery like we hoped for.  We also got a FREE doula who will be meeting with us next Saturday and is also experienced in c-sections, just in case.  So far everything has been great, with the exception of the bed rest, but Callie is a trooper and has been handling it relatively well.  I love that girl!  She’s really sacrificing a lot to have those boys stay nice and cozy for another (hopefully) 8-10 weeks.

CALLIE ON ONE OF HER MANY "BREAKS"

MY WIFE AT 27 WEEKS PREGNANT

This past Thursday was28 weeks.  I will admit I still have not gotten around to drawing the board for many reasons.
1) My parents got Mary and I tickets to see Frozen on Ice which was freaking AWESOME!  I think Mary’s lips are chapped as bad as they are because her mouth was agape through the whole show.  She and my niece sang every single song at the top of their lungs, and then passed out in the car due to a sugar induced coma.  When you are with grandparents, anything (junk food related) goes!
2)We are still sorting and trying (operative word) to get all of these baby shower gifts sorted out.  There are things that we don’t need or have doubles of (bathtub, baby bullet, stroller {my BIL and my parents got us the same $250 stroller so one of those can go towards the car seats!}, and tons of baby clothes {we aren’t too keen on dressing them the same}) we plan on returning and purchasing some of the other things that we need.
3) We are diligently handwriting very personalized “Thank You” cards.  Everyone was so kind, thoughtful, and generous with their gifts and time and energy, that we wanted to take time to individually thank everyone.   There were over 80 people at our shower…it’s taking a while.
4) We have been trying to turn this—->

MADNESS!!

MADNESS!!

into a nursery!

I promise, a week 28 update is coming, but it takes over 30 minutes to create a board (sometimes closer to an hour) and that amount of time has been quite scarce.  My wife is on the couch or in bed most of the time and that leaves me to do everything, so it’s coming, I promise!

Now the real reason for this post, the transformation of the current nursery (see picture above) into a beautiful nautical nursery for our boys.  We had a ton of help! Saturday Marco and T came over to help us assemble the delightful nightmare that is 2 IKEA dressers.  It was wise to start the night before as it took us about 2 and a half hours to complete one dresser, but it was not wise to hammer loudly at 2am.  We have great neighbors though, so it worked out.  They stayed the night, and I made my famous french toast for breakfast.  My parents came over around noonish Saturday and it was on! I had spend most of the week doing load after load after load of baby laundry (tons of donated stuff) so Callie, T, and my mom spent most of the afternoon folding baby clothes, pairing miniscule socks, and shooing the Gracie, the cat off of all the folded clothes.  They organized all of the drawers (by sizes of Newborn, 0-3 months, 3-6, 6-9, and packed away all of the clothes for 9 months-2 years in boxes for storage) and Marco cleared out the closet and organized all of the boxes of diapers that were gifted to us (about 15!)  and all of the miscellaneous baby gifts that really don’t have a place yet on the top shelf.  My dad helped me to create shelves that I otherwise would have paid $78/each! I bought some rope and cleats at the local boating store that was going out of business (70% off! on EVERYTHING!) and paid about $12.38 for a piece of wood that was cut down to size.  A little paint, and VOILA!  $234 worth of shelf for under $34!! My dad did an amazing job hanging everything for us.

Callie’s parents ordered one of the mini cribs (it’s a small space) and the mattress, and my parents ordered the other one for us last night.  The one Callie’s parents ordered has already arrived and I will be picking it up tonight, and the other one arrives on Tuesday.  I’l give you guys a sneak peak of the nursery, but the real pictures will be posted as soon as the cribs arrive and they have been assembled.

After we finished the bulk of the room, Callie and I kept heading back into the nursery and just starting at everything.  She would sit in the rocker and clap her hands with tears in her eyes.  For me, it wasn’t so much the actual nursery that was so overwhelming.  It was the amount of time and the amount of love that was in that room, not just from us, but from everyone that helped. When you walk in, you can literally feel our friends and our parents love and dedication to these babies.  Again, I was in awe of the amount of “everything they had” that they put into making that space so special for them.  That is what kept drawing me back.  It was the energy in there.  We took tons of pictures of everyone working hard to ensure that those little boys have the perfect space.  It truly is an amazing feeling.

AN ACCENT WALL IN "ADMIRAL BLUE"

AN ACCENT WALL IN “ADMIRAL BLUE”

PUTTING TOGETHER THE DRESSERS (KITTY PHOTOBOMB)

PUTTING TOGETHER THE DRESSERS (KITTY PHOTOBOMB)

TONS OF LAUNDRY

TONS OF LAUNDRY

SHELVES PAINTED AND DRYING FOR HANING

SHELVES PAINTED AND DRYING FOR HANGING

WITA PUTTING AWAY BABY CLOTHES

WITA PUTTING AWAY BABY CLOTHES

LITTLE BOAT ON A COOL SHELF

LITTLE BOAT ON A COOL SHELF

TALL DRESSER WITH NAME BEARS THAT ACTUALLY BELONG IN THE CRIBS

TALL DRESSER WITH NAME BEARS THAT ACTUALLY BELONG IN THE CRIBS

39 thoughts on “Nursery News!

  1. That is a gorgeous nursery! I continue to be amazed at how much love you’re all surrounded by. Those boys are going to have such an incredible life with you, Callie and all of your friends & family!

  2. Looks great. Just wanted to let you know I looked up baby dreaming since A has tiny baby dreams. Still not sure what his dreams are about but no nightmares- I guess until kids can be afraid of something (which is not yet, I don’t remember when) they can’t have nightmares. Rest easy- those boys are having good dreams.

  3. Oh wow, your nursery looks adorable!

    Frozen on Ice sounds so fun! Funnily enough I went to a singalong version last night, though it was an exclusively adult crowd.

    It’s weird to think that scientists can tell when an unborn baby can dream. You’d have to know when they were asleep first, surely, if they’re measuring it by brain activity, which would then need to be distinguished from just thinking. Very cool!

    • OMG! I would love a Frozen sing along, sounds freaking awesome! And i thought the same thing about them dreaming….i don’t know why it kinda freaks me out! LOL! And thanks…we put in a lot of hard work (it took the better part of the whole day – 9am-11pm!)

  4. I love that picture of Callie on the bed. I can’t imagine twins in there, it really must be exhausting! She looks beautiful though, huh! And all those clothes!! My goodness! That nursery is fantastic! 🙂 Love it.

  5. I love your boards, and how informative and awesome they are. I haven’t seen Frozen, but have been eager too. Maybe over the holidays. It’s amazing how much support you girls have in your life, the nursery looks great! Looking forward to hearing about your next check-up!

    • You HAVE to watch Frozen…i’m a Disney nerd ( I have every soundtrack on my computer-seriously!) It’s definitely something to look into…And thanks! We’ve been working so hard to make it perfect for these little guys…hopefully, I’ll be able to get it all completed this weekend and get to post some pics of the finished space…

Leave a Reply

