Our Baby Shower…

But not before Marco and I went on a hiking trip and a quick stop at the Storm King Arts Center and checked out the cool sculpture park.

Saturday started out as a typical hiking day.  Marco stayed the night Friday and we watched Americas Next Top Model (one of my 3 guilty “ratchet” TV pleasures) until about 1am and went to bed.  Woke up at 7:30, made a C.D. for the road (no my 2003 Toyota Corolla does NOT have iPod/iPhone hook up!), and head out to hike Storm King Mountain.  It was a nice short hike with amazing views of the Hudson River.  There is nothing like fall foliage in New York.  Unfortunately, we missed the window for the beautiful tri-colors of green, red, and orange, but what we got was still spectacular!

memountain menadmike mike

After that short, but much needed hike, we shot over to the Arts Center.  I had been there before in the summer, but it’s so interesting to see how much of a difference a season makes.  There were a lot of interesting new pieces that I really liked, and exploring some of the art that I’ve seen before with Marco was great.  We came to an agreement that it would be a great place to have an adventure next summer or fall with my little guys in tow.

bhudda manbell mirror spark supermarco zhang

Marco and I spent the whole day catching up on life and love, and he was explaining to be about a situation that he had with an ex-boyfriend of his regarding some loaned money.  He really had me believing the whole time that they were meeting in Pleasantville (a small town near us, and yes the same Pleasantville from the film) at the Starbucks to do a money exchange.  He was supposed to meet him at 5pm.  Since the stop was on the way home, I offered to stop there before we went home.  He was texting with the “ex-boyfriend” all day, and commented that he was running a bit late so we would go and get a glass of wine at this really awesome wine place.

wine spread

We were there for about 40 minutes when Callie, Mary and Callie’s best friend Jenny walked in.  It was at that moment that we knew, that our baby shower was coming.  The whole day, I had no idea.  We had seen my cousin while doing some shopping a few days before, and he made a comment about seeing us on Sunday, so the whole time, we thought the surprise shower would be Sunday, so they got us pretty good!

We walked into a building next door to a Starbucks and it dawned on me that it was the same place where my sister had her shower.  As the doors opened, we were so surprised and taken aback by the amount of people that were there and the faces that we say yelling, “Surprise!”  It was such an incredible and overwhelming feeling.  Our friends and family worked so hard to put it all together.

They went with a nautical theme, which is the same theme we are going with for the boys nursery.  There were anchors adorned with tulle and sea shells.  Our cake was a beach with a whale in the water colored frosting and 2 little babies with names written on their bums.  There we lobster crates holding the white chocolate covered oreo party favors.  There were trays and trays of food!  Instead of one baby shower chair for the expecting mommy, they had a bench for 2 moms!!  Everything was just beautiful.  We really couldn’t have asked for more…

We got changed (we had given my Nikki our clothes for the shower a week earlier, since we KNEW we were having one, we just didn’t know when), and made our rounds to say hello to all of our amazing family and friends.  Some of our new friends were there (these fantastic ladies that we met at our friends wedding a few weeks ago), some of our oldest friends (one of the only friends that I have kept since 8th grade and Callie’s 2 oldest and dearest friends), Callie’s boat family (they’ve known her family since before she was born and are just as much her “real “family as her real family is), our aunts and uncles and cousins.  So we mingled, we ate some delicious food, did the Cupid Shuffle and the ChaCha Slide (a family party MUST!) and were ushered over to our bench to open the MOUNTAIN of gifts.  It was the Mount Marcy of baby shower gift mountains.  We received so many awesome things like a baby bullet system , a twin carrier, cribs from the in-laws, a twin stroller from my parents, a color video baby monitor from my sister, tons and tons of adorable clothes (most of which had bow ties and mustaches on them and tons of baby sweater vests- they know me tooooooo well), a tub, play mat, towels, wash cloths, loads of diapers and wipes, bottles, sheets, a Boppy, and piggy banks which my aunt promptly passed around and within 5 minutes time they were so full you couldn’t put any more money in them! Levi and Noah both walked away with almost $60 each in their banks, which will go in their bank accounts as soon as they are born.  We also got $300 worth of gift certificates and some stuff was doubled which we can return and pay for our carseats which we will be picking up on Wednesday.  My mom put together a clothes line with about 20 outfits (doubled), socks, hats, shoes, GIANTS GEAR!, and bibs.  It was really cute.

Towards the end of the event, we cut the adorable cake and as if it was cute enough, it tasted AMAZING!!! Dominican cake with a guava filling!  I’m not even a cake person, but that night, I woke up at 3am and devoured about half of the half of cake that we had.  Everyone keeps telling us how delicious it was even 2 days later.  After we cut the cake, it was close to 9pm and almost time for everyone to leave.  Before people started heading out, we wanted to make sure that we were able to thank everyone for all of their hard work putting out shower together and for all their love, support, and generosity.  I kind of got a little emotional.  We always knew that we were loved, but to know that all that love will transfer over to our boys was overwhelming and incredible.  At 9pm, the dj cut the music off, we cleaned up the place, split the gifts into 4 different cars and head back to our apartment.  Our friends helped us bring all of the babies things in, and Callie and I sat up all night reading every single card and writing down who gave us what (our friend had written a list, but we wanted to be a little more specific).  All in all, it was a beautiful night that Callie and I will remember for the rest of our lives.  All the love that we felt in that room was at some points overwhelming.  I watched Callie’s gorgeous face the whole night.  I don’t think I’ve seen her smile like that since our first sonogram.  It was awesome.

DSC_0331 DSC_0340 DSC_0349 DSC_0362 DSC_0378 DSC_0410 DSC_0419 DSC_0237 DSC_0244 DSC_0247 DSC_0250 DSC_0255 DSC_0257 DSC_0323 DSC_0304 DSC_0299 DSC_0297 DSC_0293 DSC_0291 DSC_0290 DSC_0288 DSC_0258

 

DSC_0446

20 thoughts on “Our Baby Shower…

  1. I always love seeing a photo post from you. The joy in your photos is just contagious. That is indeed a mountain of (well deserved) gifts!

  2. Holy moly you two were so spoilt! What were in your party favors – they looked very cute. That cake sounds amazing, did someone you know make it? Looked like an awesome day!

  3. I watched Callie the whole night (she was easier to spot in her dress then you) and I’ve never really seen her angry, she’s always happy but I’ve never seen that kind of smile on her face in all my life (not even when you proposed, or an even more special day when I asked her to be my matron of honor lol). That was the most beautiful, pure, sheer glowing smile Ive ever seen on her face. And it wasn’t just once, it was for hours!!! I’m so happy you guys had such a happy and loving time.

  4. I love hearing the story from your eyes. It all went to damn fast!! I had a great time though! Love you! Trying to get Friday off so we can get more time to do more, but if not then after work it’ll have to be. And then Saturday too. See you soon!

  5. What a gorgeous shower! So sweet! Your families love you and your babies! I also love the hike and fall foliage. (By the way, I’m from Connecticut! Lived there 25 years) I’m so glad the shower went well and hope Callie is feeling good!

  6. There is so much awesome in this post! Glad you and Marco got some bro time in. Great photos! The amount of presents that the boys received is overwhelming! Where are you gonna fit all of it?

    • Giiiirrrlll, i have no idea! Thats the dilema we are having now! We were only going to buy one dresser but now we are getting 2 AND a huge closet is already full in the room. We got a ton of hand-me-downs from my cousins and some friends. They are pretty much aet from 0-3! My nephew is 2 so my SIL is stocking all of his stuff for me! It really is overwhelming!

  7. Pingback: A Whole Year | thechroniclesofanonbellymama

Leave a Reply

