“Marrying Day” Plans and 25 Weeks

We’ve officially made it to 25 weeks (well, right now it’s 25w4 days).  I was a little late this week with our board (finished it on Sunday night) because we have been running around like crazy trying to find outfits for our “marrying day” (according to Mary).  We’ve bought Callie’s dress (which looks AMAZING and accents her baby bump perfectly, although I feel guilty about having seen her in it), and a new vest and bow tie for myself.  I have to say, when we have our “real” wedding, I am definitely going to Men’s Warehouse to buy/rent my tuxedo.  They didn’t even bat an eyelash when I said that we were getting married and that I was looking for a vest that fit well, but wasn’t too tight around the chest.  I love that they had a woman who was doing fittings as well.  All in all, it was a really pleasant experience (although a little more expensive than I was hoping for but what are you gonna do right?!)  We also went to look for rings with no success.  Everywhere that we went said it would take 1-2 weeks to have them resized, which isn’t going to work for us.  Standard in store size is a 7. Callie wears a 6 and I wear an 8.5.  We figured since we will probably have these rings indefinitely, we would at least spend a decent amount of money for them and make sure they are rings that we are happy with.  5 days later and still no rings.  We have one last stop before we just order the ones we want and have them delivered to us later on and just get sterling silver rings for our ceremony in the mean time.

We were just gonna go to City Hall and have a judge marry us, but we ended up deciding on having the judge come to our home and marry us there (it’s the same price so WHY NOT!?!).  We have some friends coming over and my siblings and are having a potluck style lunch.  We are fortunate that our closest friends and sibling were able to rearrange plans to accommodate our lesbian shotgun wedding, as so many of you bloggers have dubbed it.  It’s gonna be awesome, and I’m excited, nervous, scared, and beyond happy to be marrying Callie, my best girl and the love of my life, on Saturday 11/1/14 (1+1+1+1+4=8 and if you flip that sideways, it’s the symbol for infinity which reassures me even MORE that this is what is meant to be and happening just as it should)  Still sad our parents won’t be able to be there.

So how’s about those 25 weeks, huh?!?  Our little buddies are developing their startle reflexes.  They can totally get scared now if something falls and makes a loud bang that they weren’t expecting.  I think this is funny! I wanna scare them, but Callie said it’s not nice and that I should think about that, considering what a fraidy cat I am.  No seriously!  To this day I have never seen a Chuckie, Freddy Kruger, Halloween, or Friday the 13th movie…ever! And I never will!!! I have no idea what ANYONE did last summer, and I don’t care to find out either!  At this point, the boys are continuing their growth spurt and causing Callie to be “1st trimester tired” all over again.  They are getting some fat on their bodies, but they started that already considering that they are 2 little chubbas!  They are also developing surfactant which is a lipoprotein which will help the boys lungs breathe in oxygen and breathe out carbon dioxide without their lungs collapsing.  If you ask me, I would say that’s pretty important! Also, their testes will be or already have descended into the scrotum.  I think that’s pretty important too! When I sent my friends the weekly chalkboard update Marco commented “Oh thank God those testes have descended! I was starting to worry!” which I thought was hilarious.  You know what else is hilarious!?!  Balls! LOL! Ok, get it together Sammie! These boys should be measuring in at about a pound and a half and about 13 inches long.  No wonder we really can feel those kicks ridiculously strong now.  Most people will catch a glimpse of them moving around under Callie’s shirt and can see them kicking and punching to get out.  Not yet little guys! Not yet! We still have a few more weeks.

COULDN'T CHOOSE SO I USED BOTH!

COULDN’T CHOOSE SO I USED BOTH!

25w2

We had a perinatologist appointment last Thursday and Callie’s cervix is doing worse than it was before.  It went from 1.97 to 1.94. It’s a really small change but if it continues to get shorter, it could potentially be a big problem.  The doctor made it very clear that she is to stay off of her feet until 34 weeks! He is concerned that the babies want to come and that Callie does too much.He was very specific.Our OB told us that she should be on bed rest and take it easy but this doctor was very specific.  If you tell a runner who runs 8 miles a day to take it easy, they may run about 6 instead.  He is saying “Run no miles lady!”…at all if you want to stay pregnant because at this rate, who knows how much longer they will stay in.  Good news is, she isn’t dilating or cramping and the contractions have slowed down a bit, although they are stronger than they were before.  I’m making sure that she isn’t doing anything at home with the exception of bathroom trips and switching from the bed to the couch.  When I’m not home? Well, that’s another story!   I just want my buddies to stay in there as long as they can, preferably 38 weeks.  Oh, and they love it when Mamá reads to them.  They wiggle, and roll, and move all over the place. I think they can recognize my voice now.  Callie says that they move a lot when I come home and start chatting and they haven’t heard my voice in a few hours.  I like to believe that!  So upcoming wedding, and completion of nursery this week and next.  No idea when the baby shower is but I’m almost certain that it’s coming in the next 2-3 weeks! Can’t wait!

MAMÁ READS TO CHUBBA AND BUDDY

MAMÁ READS TO CHUBBA AND BUDDY

36 thoughts on ““Marrying Day” Plans and 25 Weeks

  1. I am so sorry that Callie is on bedrest, but I am glad that the contractions have slowed down a bit. I hope she continues to take it easy and those little guys keep staying in there!. It is so sweet that they respond to you reading ❤ (And I am the same way with scary movies – my imagination terrifies me all on its own – I don't need any help!) Will be thinking good thoughts for you and the whole family – oh and congratulations on the marriage!

    • Thanks! Reading to the boys is one of my favorite things…it’s already “Mama and me (us) time” and starting a little routine already. Callie is doing well, just getting really really restless. She enjoys her naps though! Thanks for the well wishes…

  2. I’m so excited to see pics from your LSGW (see what I did there?)! It’s lovely that you will be getting married at your home.
    Bed rest sucks, but it’s all helping keep those lovely little guys in there as long as possible. Sounds like it’s all becoming very real at the moment!

    • Hopefully they stay in there until 36 weeks! And very real is an understatement…i feel like my life has been a whirlwind these past few months! But things happen just as they should, so I’m okay with it all! We’ve been joking about Callie getting married from the couch…lol!

  3. So much excitement! How are you girls gonna manage the wedding with the bedrest rules? Also- how’d she do on the 3 hour glucose test? I’m so excited for you two, and will be thinking of you on Nov 1st!!!!!

    • We are still waiting for the results from the glucose test but have an appt Thursday, so the fact that they haven’t called us yet makes us feel a little better. Hope that doesn’t bite me in the ass! And it’s not really a crazy wedding..just like 15 people in our living room…We’ve been joking about her saying her vows from the couch with her feet up in her gown…LOL…i think she’ll be alright standing for 15 minutes and drinking her glass of FRE wine… we’re super excited too!

  4. Kay Jewelers (where we got our rings) told us it would take two weeks, but we had them back in five days. But so exciting about getting married!! Although… booooooo on bed rest. That doesn’t sound like fun *at all*

    • Boooo to bed rest is right! It’s horrible for Callie to have to just sit there, possibly for the next 3 1/2 months! But booo for bed rest because that means i have to sit there too! LOL! And we did end up getting great rings yesterday and I also go my engagement ring! Woo hoo!!

  5. WordPress just did that stupid thing where it randomly unfollows people for me. I panicked when I didn’t see you haha

    Cute belly! I’m so jealous!

    • Thanks Linds! I can’t wait to share them with you guys! Sad you guys can’t be there…and reading to them has become my new favorite thing! I love that the connection to them is getting stronger and stronger. I can’t WAIT for them to be here!

  6. La just got two suits with b-day money at men’s warehouse and they were AWESOME! Non-judgemental, helpful – it was so great. She is also such a babe in them, as I’m sure you’ll be!
    Your little shot gun wedding sounds just perfect and sweet. I’m so glad you are getting to officially celebrate your love! woo hoo!
    Love the pictures and updates! ❤

    • Yeah, i think I might get myself at least 1 suit (that i’ll probably use for funerals, weddings, interviews, pretty much everything! LOL!) and just pay the money for it. You never think that you would need to get dressed so often once you “grow up” (and i use that term verrrryyyy loosely!) It should be a great time at this little shindig! Thanks Andie!

  7. Man you guys can’t catch a break lately. I’m sorry that she has to be on such strict bed rest and really hope that it helps and they can stay put MUCH longer. How tall is Callie? I can’t tell if she looks “big” or small for 25 weeks lol either way she looks radiant! I love that you read to them in utero I think it’s so important to start early. Congrats on your “marriage day” coming up soon, can’t wait to see pictures for that.

    • I know right?!?! It’s been a damn whirlwind!The bed rest sucks, but it IS what’s best, so we are just gonna follow the rules as closely as we can! And Callie is little…she is 5’2″ and anywhere between 113-120 on any given day, so believe you me, she is HUGE…tiny for twins at 25 weeks as little as she is, but she is definitely feeling it on her tiny frame. Thanks for the love…we’ll definitely be posting pictures

  8. I was on “couch rest” (not full bed rest) for part of my pregnancy, and I know how hard that was. Hope she has lots of shows to watch and books to read. Congratulations on your upcoming wedding. My spouse had a great experience getting a suit and tailoring from Nordstrom’s men’s department. They didn’t bat an eye either; so wonderful you found a place that has excellent service as well!

    • I am making her catch up on our dvr so i can clear some of it since i watch most of our shows on my overnight at work…lol! My uncle is actually the general store manager at Nordstrom’s in our home town so I really shoulda considered going there (and getting a nice discount to boot!!). And the bed rest is the worst! Initially it was great because she got to take a break, but now, nearly 3 weeks later, she is not a happy camper…at all!

  9. Isn’t it great when people ask to feel the babies and they get an elbow to the hand and try to politely not totally freak out? It’s the greatest.

    I’ve never had a suit. I kind of want one now. I’m a little jealous I don’t have any bow ties.

    Boo for the bed rest. That isn’t easy. She’s looking awesome though! And those babies are healthy and happy. I hope she gets a little bit of relief soon. And you, hope you’re hanging in there. It’s hard to do it all sometimes. 🙂

    Good luck on the wedding, friends! Make it awesome!

    • It’s GREAT! We get a kick out of it! Especially when it’s someone totally random! I was just saying to Andie that i should really have at least ONE really awesome tailored suit. Might make that my business now! And I have about 40 bow ties…i wear them just because, like my bow ties Thursdays at work that everyone gets a kick out of…especially around the holidays…snowmen bow ties that that use carrots and coal to make them anatomically correct is awesome! LOL!

      And how is your wife handling this twin pregnancy so gracefully!?! Sheesh!! At 30+ weeks and she is still doing the damn thing! I hope she gets some type of relief soon, and hopefully (although doubtful) her cervix will elongate a little and she can at least be on partial rest, ya know…i don’t know how to make it better for her, and I think that;s whats most frustrating…

      • To be honest, I don’t know how she’s doing it but I think a lot of it is being pregnant before. She doesn’t necessarily know her body with twins, but she’s carried two full term, very large babies before. She’s not as big as she was yet with either of them. I think her body just kind of knows how this goes for now. In a few weeks, when she surpasses her biggest size? I don’t know. But having the experience has really helped her learn to read her bodies signals better. She knows when she needs water, or to sit, or to rest. She knows how far she can push herself. I don’t think it would be the same if this was the first pregnancy at all.

        Unfortunately, this is just one of those things. Bed rest isn’t fun. But in the grand scheme of things, it is a short while. It’s what I keep telling The Queen: this is temporary. I’ve had a baby in the NICU. It is awful and he wasn’t even ill! (Just too big to regulate his glucose. He was under observation for the minimum amount of time.) If the bed rest keeps those babies in longer – let’s them bake up and pudge out – she’ll be so happy she was able to get through it. Once they are here, you both will literally forget everything that happened before. It’s weird and kind of wonderful.

        Do you have Netflix? How about cross stitching? Does she like crosswords? The Queen can recommend any book for any person for any preference and style. 🙂 I bring The Queen things to do while she rests like folding the laundry or gluing cotton balls. (Yay Halloween!)

        Hang in there, guys. You’re getting closer and closer. 🙂

      • Our dr said, small sacrifice now for what could be huge sacrifices in the future otherwise… Wise words sir, wise words, so that’s what really has been getting her (and me) through, because it’s not easy being the sole bread winner and homemaker ya know!

  10. That bump is fab-u-lous. Also I loooove that book-we read it to the boys on the regular. Can’t wait to see some marrying day pics!!!! Congrats ladies ❤

    • Have you read “A tale of two mommies” and Todd Parr’s “The Mommy Book” and “The Family Book”…all those are great! Your boys! Sooooo freaking cute! I can just see them sitting there listening too with those adorable little faces!

  11. So excited for you guys and your “marrying day”. We had so much fun on ours but it went by so quickly! Make sure you and Callie take a moment to step back by yourselves and take in everything going on around you! It’s such a blessing when you stop and realize the wonderful people in your lives and the ones who will have an impact on your boys! Wishing you a happy joyful marriage!!!!

    • Thank you for that advice…it’s funny because whenever we have some event or party we are so engulfed in making sure that everyone is ok and and enjoying themselves that we forget to makes sure we share some of those moments throughout the party. I’ll make sure that i take a minute (or a few) to pull her aside and love on her on our special day…

  12. wow! look at that belly! (well. that’s about the size of my belly and I have no babies in there yet haha) it’s a beautiful baby bump! That’s awesome that they respond to your voice ❤️ Youre such a good parent to Mary, I know you’ll be a great mamá to your boys! Lol @Marco’s comment. I can’t wait to see pics of your wedding day! I’m sure it’ll be beautiful, sterling silver rings or “real” rings. Continuing to pray for you and your family 🙏

  13. You guys have Netflix, right? I have no idea how I survived 14 weeks in bed in the days before it. I read A LOT. That and I’m pretty sure I developed an unhealthy crush on Judge Joe Brown.

Leave a Reply

