You Gotta Do What You Gotta Do…

With the impending birth of our twins, Callie and I decided that it was our number one priority (this week) to get married.  Everything that has been going on with her cervix and contractions and the bleeding last week, we’re getting a little paranoid and a little nervous that these boys will be here sooner than we think and that I won’t legally be their mama.  I know that I probably still have to legally adopt my boys (although I don’t plan on going to Mississippi any time soon, I am hoping to take my kids to Disney in Florida at some point, and God forbid something happened down there, I wouldn’t be their parents.) but I also know that marriage equality and reform has at ton of momentum right now and it’s all inevitably going to change.  FINALLY!   With all of that said, this >>>>>>

MARRIAGE LICENSE

MARRIAGE LICENSE

happened yesterday afternoon.  We got out Marriage License, and we are getting a few things together for our friends to come here on Saturday 11/1/2014 and have a little shindig at the waterfront park across the street from out apartment complex.  We’ll probably just go out to dinner and not really do anything major (since our plans are to have a bigger wedding when the boys are here) except maybe game night and beer/wine at our apartment.  I’m a little sad that my parents won’t be back from their 39 day excursion in Europe (they are seriously partying it up in super gay Mykonos, Greece which they are LOVING! “O my gah! All deh peoples is so nice ovah he-yah eng ebrybah-dee es un GAY! PARRTYYY!”), but you gotta do what you gotta do…

In 2 weeks time, I will be legally married to the woman of my dreams, the mother of my children, my best friend, and the love of my life…

58 thoughts on “You Gotta Do What You Gotta Do…

  1. Congrats! Honestly, at this point, I’m just going to wait it out. With gay marriage legalized from here to Wisconsin (our main road trips) there’s no reason to spend way too much money and jump through obnoxious hoops. By the time we (and you) will want to go to Disney, this will all be resolved by the courts. 😉

    Will she be changing her name to match yours and the boys? My wife is going to get hers changed next month, since all the good in her family name is dead, she doesn’t need that link anymore. And I’m quite glad not to have to learn a new name for me. hahahaha

    • She is changing her last name to mine. Her last name is her her married name and it was just too much drama to change it back! Her maiden last name is very German (Reichelt {rye-shelt) and no one EVER pronounces it correctly…hyphenating just isn’t for us i suppose! LOL…and how awesome is a super Caucasian, green-eyed, freckle faced red-head breaking the stereotypes with such a Latino last name!

  2. Yay! Congratulations! Our marriage license is one of my most prized possessions. 🙂

    We also plan to do the 2nd parent adoption–assuming we ever have someone to 2nd-parent-adopt! You just never know what’s going to happen or when, and I want us all as protected as possible from the get go.

    • Yeah, you’re right, but with all this change happening so fast, we may not need it before the end of the year…we are definitely going to do a POA as well, and living will, but hopefully, this will just cement things for us now. And i keep hearing people say initially it was just a piece of paper but always ends up being so much more 🙂

  3. We had to have a legal ceremony sooner than expected for immigration purposes. It was sad to do without family but didn’t detract from the real thing 9 months later! Legality is important for its own reasons but bringing your families and friends together will mean so much more!

  4. Woo! This is awesome! Congrats!

    We’ve been married almost eight years and not a single day in Texas. It’s awful. We didn’t go forward with a second parent adoption either, since we live in a county that isn’t 100% amenable to that. I have a lot of papers The Queen has signed even though, in the end, none would probably mean a damn thing. So, I’m glad you guys are getting the protection for your family. 🙂 Let me know if you have any questions about papers Callie can sign if you want extra protection. 🙂

    And frame that thing! So fun!

    • I’m so glad you were properly educated about that danger in Texas! Too many people get really screwed by that because their lawyers don’t know what they are doing.

      It’s changing. Soon. I expect a case before the supreme court in 2015 to resolve this all.

    • That truly is awful…hopefully that will all change soon..very soon! All you can really do is try your best to secure your legal place, i suppose. Ultimately, really is any paper 100%…I’ve even heard of them contesting birth certificates here in NY as well, and people actually winning! it’s all quite sad really…like why go through all the trouble. Considering what you said about your in-laws, i would have an asshole full of papers to secure my rights as their parents…and I probably will frame it! And put it over our bed so that I can constantly remind Callie that i’m her wife and she better listen to me (but it’ll probably be the reverse!)

      • The Queen is very aware of, and has been very active in keeping me as legally safe as possible. As someone who doesn’t know how it feels, she’s very sympathetic and understanding. She’s been honest with her parents about my role and they’ve openly said they’d never contest anything, but you never know. You can’t be rational with irrational people.

        It’s hard. I’m glad The Queen took my last name when we were married, so the kids have my name as well. And I am not above lying. I routinely tell people I am their mother (because I AM) and no one questions it, especially when it’s just us. (And it’s just us often while The Queen is at work.) We’ve had very little issue here in Austin, but we know the threat exists and we’re diligent about it. Sucks, but it is what it is.

  5. How awesome is that?!? We got married in NY in 2012. It wasn’t legal in CA yet so we flew there lol then last year my sister and her wife got married there… both in the same courthouse my parents got married in. 🙂 I really need to look into the whole legal thing here. Good luck with everything! It sucks you’re parents won’t be there but they will be there for the boys and that’s what matters!

    • Yeah, it does suck they won’t be here, but it’s important for them to be here for the “real deal” when the boys are born..probably another year or so till we throw our real wedding…and how awesome is that same courthouse! that’s freaking great!

  6. Congrats!! My wife and I decided to get married in California last year on our anniversary. Our marriage just became legal in our state in the past couple weeks so we’re super excited about that lol!

    I’m wishing you guys all the best 🙂

  7. Congrats! We had a lesbian shot-gun wedding too (at least the legal one) and just got our amended birth certificate last week with both of our names on it. Such an awesome feeling!

  8. We had a lesbian shotgun wedding too, although it was actually a Civil union (legal but not ‘marriage’) as it was in 2012 and marriage was only legalized here in 2013. I’ve hyphenated my surname and our kids will take my wife’s surname 🙂 Can’t wait to see all the pics.

    • Seems like a lot of people had shotgun weddings! I mean, shotgun because it’s not what we wanted, but we total know and knew that we have been wanting to be married for a long time. We joke about just going to the courthouse and getting hitched, but now it’s actually happening! It’s taking way to long! I just wanna be married already!

      • Ours was shotgun cos I was knocked up illegitimately 😉 We even had a sign on the road that said ‘M & D’s Shotgun Wedding’ 🙂

  9. Oh, my poor heart! 🙂 And I’m so proud that, if you were living here in AZ…that you could, not that you would…but that you could. It’s a good time to be alive. 🙂

Leave a Reply

